Senate President Senate President Wayne Niederhauser

Utah Senate



Wayne Niederhauser was first elected to the Utah State Senate in 2006. He is now in his second term representing Senate District 9, which covers most of Sandy and the east portion of Little Cottonwood Canyon.

Senator Niederhauser and his wife Melissa met at Utah State University where he graduated with a Master of Accountancy degree and she graduated with a Bachelors degree in Clothing and Textiles with an emphasis in Fashion Merchandising. They have been married for nearly thirty years and are proud parents to five children, Christian (Lisa), Sarah, Molly, Ethan, and Emma.

The Niederhauser’s have made Sandy their residence for over twenty-five years. They have enjoyed their involvement in the community and are committed to doing what they can to see that the quality of life they have enjoyed is preserved for future generations. Additionaly, the Niederhausers are avid outdoor enthusiasts. Wayne has a particular passions for cycling and skiing. He looks forward to the Tour de France each summer and visiting Moab as often as he can.

Wayne is also an owner of CW Management Corporation, a real estate development company located in West Jordan. CW focuses on residential and commercial projects that enhance a quality lifestyle and the surrounding community. They are a leader in designing open space, parks and trails as a integral part of development. Their Spring View Farms project located along the Jordan River in Bluffdale was awarded the 2004 Merit of Planning Design by Envision Utah.

Sen. Niederhauser is a Certified Public Accountant. He is committed to an accoutable, transparent, and participatory government. To this end, he successfully sponsored legislation creating the State Financial Transparency website, The website provides public access to state financial information, such as Utah Tax Commission reports, state audits, and public searches.

In addition to his service in the Utah Senate, Sen. Niederhauser is a board member for Envision Utah, the Sports Commission, the Visit Salt Lake Board (local CVB), and the Shakespearean Festival Board. In November of 2012 he was elected Senate President.